Virtual Visit to the Alaskan Iditarod

I chose Aliy Zirkle for my musher during the Iditarod.  I chose her because she is from New Hampshire.  When she was twenty, she moved to a small town in Alaska.  During her first winter there, she adopted six huskies.  She has gotten second place three times in the Iditarod.  She was disappointed.

I read Balto during the Iditarod.  It takes place in Alaska a long time ago.  Sepphala is Balto’s musher.  Togo and Balto are both dogs who rode the Iditarod Trail to help the sick people then.  I predicted that the serum was going to get lost because it was very bumpy and dangerous on the trail.  There was a terrible sickness, and they had to pick mushers who would pass the medicine from one person to another.  Balto was one of the dogs.  To me the most exciting part was when they were picking the people to go.  Finally, they started.  If they took too much time, it would be too late!  I didn’t know this whole story before.

I learned a lot about mushing during the Iditarod.  Sometimes dogs can run away, and other people can come and help them.  Some of the mushers talk to their dogs.  The dogs eyes glow in the dark on the video.  The dogs love sledding even in freezing cold weather.  They are very fast.  They eat a lot of food to keep running.  If the dogs are sick, they have to go home.  The dogs are strong, and they can even sled over the frozen sea water.

I made a list of strong Iditarod verbs to use in my writing.  I chose yipping, howling, winning, barking, wailing, falling snow, focusing mushers, checking the dogs, running, and jumping.

I compared the sport of mushing to another sport I like, baseball.  Baseball is different because it is in summer; uses a bat, ball and helmet for its equipment; has different pitchers; and is not too dangerous.  Mushing is different because it is in winter; uses hats, mittens, and dogs booties for its equipment; has one person, and is quite dangerous.  They are the same because there is clapping and cheering, there are winners, they are both exciting, and they are both challenging.

2 thoughts on “Virtual Visit to the Alaskan Iditarod

  1. Hello there, what a great post! I am one of the volunteer commenters for the Student Blogging Challenge, and it’s been wonderful to see all of you grow as bloggers.

    I loved Balto too. Like you, I didn’t know the history behind the Iditarod race, and was fascinated. I read the book in one sitting; I couldn’t put it down!

    Thanks for sharing your virtual race with us!

    Cheers,
    Mrs. Fitzgerald

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *